"Hvis frihed overhovedet betyder noget, så betyder det retten til at fortælle folk det, de ikke vil høre"

George Orwell

About Sappho

Contact Sappho: [email protected] or Lars Hedegaard 0045 40 16 72 42

Sappho´s Editors-in-chief:
Katrine Winkel Holm and Lars Hedegaard

Co-editors: Morten Uhrskov Jensen, Mogens Rukov and Farshad Kholghi.

Sappho is the magazine of The Free Press Society and Denmark´s most outspoken magazine on free speech, radical islam, culture and politics. Sappho - the Greek poetess from the sixth century B.C. - is also depicted in our logo. Plato characterised her as the tenth muse, and Sappho has adopted her as the Muse of Free Speech.

Our yearly award - The Sappho Award - has gained much media attention. In 2010 it was given to Mark Steyn, canadian-born writer and columnist, in 2009 to Melanie Philips, british journalist and commentator. In 2008 it was given to the cartoonist Kurt Westergaard. In 2007 the Sappho Award was given to Jyllands-Posten´s editor Flemming Rose.

Among the people we have interviewed are: Ayaan Hirsi Ali, Reza Pahlavi, Abd al Malik, Ben Okri, Gunnar Heinsohn, Uma Dhupelia-Mesthrie, Peter Whittle, Douglas Murray, Abed Azrié, Ole Nydahl, Mark Steyn, Freidoune Sahebjam and Pia Kjærsgaard.

Our many public debates and seminars featuring influential danish and foreign writers, intellectuals, publicists, artists and politicians continue to attract much political and media attention. Speakers have included Ibn Warraq, Daniel Pipes, Geert Wilders, Bruce Bawer, Henryk Broder, Samia Labidi, Elisabeth Schemla, Shabana Rehman, Peter Whittle, Douglas Murray, Bat Ye´or, Chahdortt Djavann, Amir Taheri, Roy Brown, Jørgen Bæk Simonsen, Klaus Rothstein, Lars Seier Christensen, Asger Aamund and Hans Jørgen Bonnichsen.